Disaster Declaration Approved for Morgan County and Others Due to Flooding

Morgan County is among 87 in Illinois that have received disaster area declarations by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The decision by the federal government makes farmers in those counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans due to damages to crops caused by heavy rains and flooding earlier this summer. Cass, Christian, Greene, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Pike, Sangamon, and Scott Counties are also among those included in the disaster declaration.

Governor Bruce Rauner, in a press release, said:

“Illinois has suffered a lot of storm and rain damage throughout this spring and summer. I am pleased our request for federal assistance was granted and encourage farmers throughout these counties to contact their local Farm Service Agency for questions.”

Farmers in the affected counties now have eight months to apply for loans.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s