Humbled on the Holiday / Where Do We Go From Here?

I’ve had a number of people reach out over the past few days and say a lot of really nice things about this page and the things that we’ve contributed to over the last year.

To say that some of the comments have been humbling is a definite understatement.

Some of you have asked us to stick around and “keep doing what you’re doing, because you’re not afraid to give an opinion”. I’ve had conversations with several people whose opinions I highly value and they have brought good suggestions to the table about ways to bring up the level of content published on this page and on the website. Between automated RSS feeds and a few other tricks that anyone with a bit of advanced WordPress experience can probably make work in their sleep, perhaps the end may not be near for My Social Jacksonville, as I had originally thought.

My original goal was to publish 6-8 posts per day with various information relevant to our area, whether in the form of news articles shared from local sources such as WLDS (which is, by the way, a VERY well-run community-focused radio station for which I have the utmost respect) and the Journal-Courier, statewide sources such as the Illinois News Network, and selected national stories… or just random “feel good about life” stories. If I believe that can be achieved, there may be a reason for My Social Jacksonville to stick around.

I do, however, want to address one thing that has come up, because I think that it is important to say that the decision to shut down My Social Jacksonville was NOT a result of “South Jacksonville not being the ‘it topic’ anymore”. I assure you that nothing could be farther from the truth – much to the chagrin of a certain group of people.

Anyone who knows me and knows the things that are on my plate on a daily basis knows that the demand on my time has increased quite a bit over the last eight weeks or so. It truly has gotten to a point that this page and the website have become an afterthought… an “Oh, I haven’t posted anything in a couple of days, maybe I should…” situation. I don’t like that and thought that it wasn’t a big deal if this page went away.

But, the response and comments from those who have reached out says otherwise. So, in the short term, I am postponing any plans of shutting down My Social Jacksonville, to allow time to look into ways to bring the content back up to par with where I’d like it to be. If nothing else, my ownership of MySocialJacksonville.com runs until March 29th, so the website will continue on until at least that point.

I am interested in hearing from anyone that might be willing to serve as a content creator administrator for this page, if I decide to keep it around. Ideally, you have some kind of journalistic background or have other writing experience that translates to the casual news style that I’ve begun to form on the website. I need people that know that the goal isn’t to BEAT the Journal-Courier or WLDS at what they do (because it’s really tough to beat news people at gathering and reporting the news), but can complement what they do with our own thoughts on what is going on in our communities in this area. I need people that have an active voice and an opinion that others will want to at least consider, if not agree with. If I’ve just described you, send me a message through this page and let’s see what we can make happen!

 

Colby

Leave a Reply

