Blackhawks’ Shaw Suspended for Anti-Gay Slur

The Chicago Blackhawks, facing elimination from the NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs tonight, will be without forward Andrew Shaw.

Shaw, who has scored two goals in four games against the St. Louis Blues in the Western Conference Quarterfinals, has been suspended for one game and fined $5,000 for using an anti-gay slur during Game 4 on Tuesday night.

Shaw used the slur toward a game official after being penalized for interference with just over two minutes to play in the 3rd Period. The National Hockey League, in issuing the suspension and fine, also ordered the Blackhawk forward to attend sensitivity training sessions.

Prior to the announcement of the suspension, Shaw said, in part:

“I wanted to apologize for my actions. I have no excuses for anything. I want to apologize to the gay and lesbian community. That’s not the type of guy I am. This is hard for me. I saw the video last night and I had a tough time sleeping. It has gotten to me. I let my emotions get the better to of me. I want to apologize to the organization, the NHL and my teammates, my family, my friends. Obviously I’m sorry. It’s a tough time for me right now.”

(Read more here.)

Leave a Reply

